Menu

Hook Norton C of E

Primary School

Live Love Care Think Learn Dare

Newsletter 1 July 2016

Dear Parents

 

Expansion: The huge crane has arrived today amid much excitement! The new chairs and tables have arrived for the Foundation Stage; they are so cute! The foundations for the new classrooms in KS2 are taking shape.  On Monday you will see a transformation in the Foundation Stage outdoor area.

Notices: Please do not pull up in your car and then reverse out of the space in front of the new pedestrian entrance to the school.

Year 6 Musical Concert – Friday 8 July, 9.15am Parents are welcome to watch our Year 6 performers in the school hall.

Parent Meetings : Mrs Macdonald, Miss Persaud and Mrs Nixon will be holding a meeting for September’s Reception parents on Thursday 7 July at 2.45pm in the new Reception classroom.

Mrs Vint will be holding a meeting for September’s Year 1 parents on Tuesday 12 July at 2.45pm in the Year 1 classroom.  Further details will follow.

Reminder: The last day of term is Friday 15th July at 1.30pm. Please use the school website to check diary dates as they will be accurate.  The county website has the overall days for all schools without the INSET days.

Clubs: Clubs finish next week (the two Film Clubs are 2-hour sessions finishing at 5.15pm).

Reports: You will be receiving your child’s annual report next Friday, which is the same format as last year, except we now report if your child is Working Towards the expected standard for their age group, is Working At the expected standard or working at Greater Depth.  As you will be aware, levels have been abolished and the new terminology reflects the end of Key Stage tests. There will be a letter to accompany the reports which gives more details.  If you wish to discuss the report with your child’s teacher, please make an appointment.

Staff Vacancy: We have a vacancy from September for someone to join our caring midday supervisor team.  If you have the ability to work as part of a dedicated team supporting children at lunchtimes, please ask for an application from the office.

Library Club: Please ensure your child(ren) bring back any outstanding library books next Thursday (the last session) – there will be a £5 charge for any unreturned books. We would like to take this opportunity to thank Mrs Orchard for all her work as our volunteer librarian over the last few years.  In September Mrs Becky Cooke will be taking over Library Club on Wednesdaylunchtimes.

Open Afternoon: – Friday 8 July – 1.30-3pm – this is an opportunity for parents/carers to join their children in the classroom to look at the work and activities they have been doing over the past year – there will also be refreshments and school meal sampling from The School Lunch Company in the hall.

FOHNS BBQ :tonight 5.30-7.30pm.  Thank you for your sweets and toy contributions for non-uniform day – it looks like the weather will hold! – come and join us.  BBQ by The School Lunch Company, games, licenced bar, raffle, and lots of fun activities!

Attendance: Well Done to Y1 and Y6 for Full Attendance 20-24 June 2016.

WELL DONES: This week we have said ‘Well Done’ to:  Darcy Lambourne, Attie Yost, All Y6, All Y3, All Y5, Aiden Smith, Bella-May Perry, Lily Armstrong, Elliott Miskin, Joe Jordan.

ACTIVITIES/VISITS: Y6 are visiting the Horton Hospital today for the Injury Minimisation Programme.

The whole school photograph was very exciting (and it didn’t rain) and the result is lovely! – please follow the instructions in the envelopes being sent home today – we will be displaying the sample around different places so everyone gets a chance to look at it!

Alternative sports day went very well; thank you to all the volunteers, including ex-pupils!

Y3 visited the village Brewery Museum today as part of their Victorian topic.

I visited Ducklington School and looked at writing across the school.

Mrs Nixon attended Early Years training on story telling.

Scott Orchard and I attended the county briefing for Heads and Chairs of Governors. Support from the Local Authority will continue to diminish; children’s centres will be closing with 8 Family Centres replacing them. The LA has a statutory duty to support vulnerable learners and that will be their priority. Absence rates were also discussed; Oxfordshire has a higher rate of absence from schools than similar counties and there is a direct link with attendance and performance at GCSE and A-Level.  The definition of the term ‘Persistent Absentee’ has been changed from 15% absence to 10%.  This means if your child has 90% or below they will be classed as a Persistent Absentee and their attendance will be closely monitored. (This includes absence for illness as well as holidays.)  No child classed as a Persistent Absentee will be granted authorised absence from school.

The governors met to formalise the new School Improvement Plan, which includes a whole school focus on ‘words’ and vocabulary next year.

Today in Collective Worship we remembered those who gave their lives for us at the Battle of the Somme which started 100 years ago today.

 

OUT OF SCHOOL ACHIEVEMENTS: Well done to: Catherine Monelle Stage 6 Swimming, Dixie Kenneford Stage 4 Swimming, Neve Kelly for her Little Princess Trust certificate in recognition of her donation of her hair to make wigs for children with cancer.

 

Owl Value of the month : Teamwork

 

“Two are better than, because they have a good return for their labour: if either of them falls down, one can help the other up.” Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

 

Yours sincerely

 

Mrs S Belgrove

Head Teacher

 

 

REMINDER : Diary Dates:-

Friday 1 July 5.30pm FOHNS Family BBQ
Tuesday 5 July 10.30am & 2.10pm Foundation Stage Sports (Monday 11 July if wet!)
Wednesday 6 July 9.30am Sports Day : (Year 1 – Year 6) – (Thursday 7 July if wet!)
Friday 8 July 9.15-10.15am Y6 Musical Concert
Friday 8 July 1.30-3.00pm Open Afternoon followed by refreshments
Thursday 14 July 9.15am Prize-Giving Assembly
Friday 15 July 9.15am Year 6 Leavers’ Assembly
Friday 15 July 1.30pm End of Term 6

 

 

Term/Holiday dates 2016/17

AUTUMN 2016

Monday 5 September (Wednesday 7 September for Foundation Stage) – Friday 21 October

October Half Term : Monday 24 October –Friday 28 October inclusive

Monday 31 October – Friday 16 December

Christmas Holiday : Monday 19 December – Tuesday 3 January 2017 inclusive

SPRING 2017

Wednesday 4 January 2016 (Friday 6 January for FS part-timers) – Friday 10 February

February Half Term : Monday 13 February – Friday 17 February

Monday 20 February– Friday 7 April

April Holiday – Monday 10 April – Monday 24 April inclusive

SUMMER 2017

Tuesday 25 April (Thurs 27 April for FS part-timers) – Friday 26 May

May Day Holiday – School Closed : Monday 1 May

May Half Term : Monday 29 May – Monday 5 June inclusive

Tuesday 6 June – Friday 21 July

(Please note: These dates may be subject to alteration, we will inform you of any changes)

Top