Menu

Hook Norton C of E

Primary School

Live Love Care Think Learn Dare

Newsletter 18 July

Dear Parents

 

Harry Bartlett Cups

At yesterday’s prize-giving assembly, Adam White and Olivia Roberts were presented with the Harry Bartlett Cups for their outstanding contribution to school life, well done!

Mr Newman Cups

Mr Newman returned to school to present his cups for sporting excellence to Keira Koch and Rowan Wilkes – congratulations!

 

Leavers: Today we said goodbye to our Year 6’s in a very moving service. We wish them all the very best of luck and look forward to hearing about their future successes and achievements.

 

Goodbye and Good Luck:

We are saying ‘Good-bye’ to Ms Parfitt, Mrs Elliott , Mrs Holiday and Mrs Nottingham. We wish them all well for the future and thanks for all their support during their time with us. Best wishes to Mrs Nottingham who is beginning her training to be a teacher.

Mrs Harbottle will be returning from maternity leave in September.

 

Congratulations! Mrs Davies is now Mrs Lambourne; she got married without telling anyone! Miss Bithell will also be returning in September as Mrs Vint – our best wishes for her wedding in August.

 

Parent/Class Information Meetings: 2014-15

Once again we will be holding group Class Meetings for parents/carers (children are welcome to attend if not at a club) in September, where the class teachers will give an overview of the work children will be covering over the next academic year, as well as giving out other relevant school information, diary dates, etc. These meetings will take place in the classroom on the dates outlined below (there will be individual parent/teacher consultations later in the term to report on progress):-

Year 6 – Mrs Peters – Tuesday 9 September, 3.20pm

Year 5 – Mrs Crouch – Wednesday 10 September, 3.20pm

Year 4 – Mrs Robertson – Wednesday 17 September, 3.20pm

Year 3 – Miss Hope – Friday 12 September, 3.20pm

Year 2 – Miss Nunneley –Tuesday 16 September, 3.20pm

Year 1 – Miss Bithell – Thursday 11 September, 3.20pm

 

Swimming: Year 5 will start on Tuesday 9 September – look out for the Parentmail message!

 

Payments : Please keep up to date with your payments for meals (advanced payment on Mondays) and residentials – all balances are available to view on www.parentmail2.co.uk. If making payment by cash/cheque, please ensure it is placed in a clearly-marked envelope for children to hand to the class teacherat registration.

 

Blood Doning:Monday 11 August in the School Hall. 13.15 to 15.30 and 16.15 to 19.00.

 

Clubs: Deadline for signing up is Friday 5 September if you haven’t yet returned your slip. Clubs start week commencing 15 September.

Musical Instrument tuition : Details of lessons on offer for the next academic year are on the clubs letter. Keith Allen will be coming in to demonstrate musical instruments after school for parents/children interested in learning Thursday 11 September.

 

Tennis Open Day:Hook Norton Tennis Club Saturday 19 July 1-4pm. Come along for a free taster- racquets provided.

 

FOHNS : A huge thank you to the committee for a brilliant year of fundraising activities – the summer barbecue last Friday was such a lovely event and made approximately £1,700 profit. Special thanks to Kate Luxton and Felicity Wintle who are stepping down as joint Chairs – we have really appreciated the hard work they have done over the years. Also thanks to Helen Koch for her great support as Treasurer.

 

Activities/Visits : Year 6 had a fantastic time at the Spy Centre on Monday. Our Year 6 musicians performed brilliantly to parents at a concert on Wednesday, and the Foundation Stage had a fiercely contested Sports Day, enjoyed by families and older siblings watching at playtime!

 

Out of School Achievements : Well done to Anna Horth Silver Mime Ballet Medal, Lottie Denne completing the Sibford Triathlon, Emily Carroll-Mayes Level One Personal Survival Swimming Award.

 

Hymn of the Week: The Journey of Life

One More Step Along the World I go

 

Christian Value of the month: Endurance

 

TERMS & HOLIDAY DATES 2014/15

AUTUMN 2014

 

TERM 1

Wednesday 3 September (Friday 5 September for Foundation Stage) – Friday 24 October

October Holiday : Monday 27 October –Friday 31 October inclusive

 

TERM 2

Monday 3 November – Friday 19 December

Christmas Holiday : Monday 22 December – Monday 5 January 2015 inclusive

 

SPRING 2015

 

TERM 3

Tuesday 6 January 2015 (Thursday 8 January for FS part-timers) – Friday 13 February

February Holiday : Monday 16 February – Friday 20 February

 

TERM 4

Monday 23 February– Friday 27 March

April Holiday – Monday 30 March – Monday 13 April inclusive

 

SUMMER 2015

 

TERM 5

Tuesday 14 April (Thurs 16 April for FS part-timers) – Friday 22 May

May Day Holiday – School Closed : Monday 4 May

Late Spring Holiday : Monday 25 May – Friday 29 May

TERM 6

Monday 1 June – Friday 17 July

 

Have a lovely summer, let’s hope this weather continues! We will see you back on Wednesday 3 September, Years 1 – 6, with Foundation Stage starting on Friday 5 September.

 

Yours sincerely

Mrs S Belgrove

Head Teacher

Top