Menu

Hook Norton C of E

Primary School

Live Love Care Think Learn Dare

Newsletter 20 April 2018

Dear Parents

Welcome back – finally some sunny weather! A warm welcome to all the new children and families joining us this term.

We have been taking part in the Oxfordshire Book Awards where we have been sent books for KS1/R and KS2 for the children to read and vote for their favourites. Our winner in the picture book category is ‘There’s a Monster in Your Book’ by Tom Fletcher and in the KS2 category ‘ A Place Called Perfect’ by Helena Duggan.

May Day Celebrations – Tuesday 1 May, 9.30am (should finish by 11am)
(FOHNS serving Coffee & Croissants from 9am)
You are warmly invited to join us for our May Day celebrations on May 1st, which will commence at 9.30am on the playground (weather permitting – otherwise we will have to be in the school hall). Prior to the celebrations, FOHNS will be selling tea, coffee & croissants from 9.00am to all spectators attending the May Day celebrations.
Dress Code: Girls –pretty dresses, Boys – smart shirts and school trousers or shorts, Year 6 – jeans and a white shirt or t-shirt, with sensible shoes for dancing (no crocs, flip flops, boots or loose slip-on shoes). Children should come to school in their May Day outfits but can change into school uniform afterwards if you wish. Please make sure children bring a warm coat!
Afternoon Nursery children may join the dancing – please bring children to the Nursery at 9.15am, and collect them from the classroom at the end of the celebrations.
Wanted! Any artificial flowers you have spare for our Mayday celebrations to decorate the Maypole and the throne. Thank you!

REMINDER – KS2 Snack Bar – all items are now 35p

Poppy Queenan and Annabelle Butler raised £39.40 for Brain Tumour Research, which was doubled by Poppy’s parents. Thank you for your kind donations.

Bag2School – bags have been distributed via the children – please return your bag/s by Thursday 26th April 9am and help raise money for the school pirate ship.

Sport: Our Y6 team of Alfie Wright, Amy Preedy-Corby, Luke Crow and Tris Connor won the County Boccia Championship! (It’s a bit like bowls.) Well done! A new piece of silverware for our trophy cabinet!

Activities this week:
N: Settling in new children and making cakes with playdough.
R: Finding out about things that use technology.
Y1/Y2: Planted salad in their garden.
Y3: Started work on volcanoes as part of their Big Question ‘What makes the earth angry?’
Y4: Writing ghost stories.
Y5: Spotted living creatures in the wildlife pond.
Y6: Experiments with electricity.

Friends’ Events (further information will follow):
BINGO! – takes place tomorrow (Saturday 21 May) 3-5pm in the school hall – £2.50 per person includes 8-game Bingo card and Dabber – hot food/refreshments will be available to buy. Arrive just before 3pm to get refreshments and a good seat!
Grand Village Garage Sale & Car boot AND Bike & Bake Sale – Sunday 20 May. 2-5pm Garage Sale and 2-4pm for the school Bike & Bake. See separate Parentmail for details.
FOHNS Easter Rabbit Competition – Winners are:
Overall Winner : Zeti Jarvas (£20 Book Voucher)
Foundation Stage winner: Matilda White (£10 Book Voucher)
KS1 winner : Sam Lewis (£10 Book Voucher)
KS2 winner: Thomas Hewitt-Gray (£10 Book Voucher)
Thank you to everyone who took part. Each child who entered received a chocolate treat.
This event raised £177 for FOHNS, thanks to Louisa Houseman and Chipping Norton Physio Clinic for generous donations of the prizes.

Out of School Achievements : Well done to Barney Hollingdale Blue Award Wade Gymnastics, Chloe Webb Diamond Blue Peter Badge, Josh Ellard Football Medal and trophy, John Legg U7s football trophy, Naomi B First Prize HN Gardening Show and People’s Choice for her Lego model, Niamh B First Prize HN Gardening Show for her Lego model, Tommy Burge Skiing Badge. Swimming: Alex Lewis 100m and Stage 6, Sam Lewis 10m, Zeteny Jarvas Stage 3.
Well Done; This week we have said well done to Ralph Lambourne, Violet Robey, Alex Reid, Tyler Labbett, Josh Stratford, Ellis Maitland Jones, Alfie Simmonds, Emily Cutter, Meg Maitland Jones, Cordy Walker, All Y6 , All Y3.

Yours sincerely

Mrs S Belgrove
Head Teacher

Owl Value of the Month: Healthy living

“ Nevertheless, I will bring health and healing to it; I will heal my people and will let them enjoy abundant peace and security.” Jeremiah 33.6

Next term and next year’s term and holiday dates:-
SUMMER 2018
Monday 16 April (Wednesday 18 April for Nursery) – Friday 25 May
May Day Holiday – School Closed : Monday 7 May
May Half Term : Monday 28 May – Friday 1 June inclusive
Monday 4 June – Friday 20 July, 1.30pm
2018/19:
AUTUMN 2018
Wednesday 5 September (Friday 7 September for Foundation Stage) – Friday 19 October
October Half Term : Monday 22 October – Friday 26 October inclusive
Monday 29 October – Friday 21 December, 1.30pm
Christmas Holiday : Monday 24 December – Friday 4 January 2019 inclusive
SPRING 2019
Monday 7 January 2019 (Wednesday 9 January for Nursery) – Friday 15 February
February Half Term : Monday 18 February – Friday 22 February
Monday 25 February – Friday 5 April, 1.30pm
April Holiday – Monday 8 April – Monday 22 April inclusive
SUMMER 2019
Tuesday 23 April (Thursday 25 April for Nursery) – Friday 24 May
May Day Holiday – School Closed : Monday 6 May
May Half Term : Monday 27 May – Monday 3 June inclusive
Tuesday 4 June – Friday 19 July, 1.30pm

Top