Menu

Hook Norton C of E

Primary School

Live Love Care Think Learn Dare

Newsletter 31 March 2017

Dear Parents

Red Nose Day:

Red Nose Day raised £245.00, which includes £21.20 from HN Friday Toddler Group.  Thank you for your support.

New Teacher;  I am delighted to welcome Miss Anna Quartermain to our teaching team; she  will be our new KS1 teacher from September. Miss Quartermain has a passion for History, is an accomplished piano player and is experienced in leading children’s choirs and I am sure we will soon put her many talents to good use!

Reminders:

End of Term on Friday 7/4/17 – 2pm finish. Summer term starts Tuesday 25 April for Reception to Y6, Nursery (part-time children) return Wednesday 26 April.

Clubs finish this week apart from Yoga and Mrs Wood’s Recorder group.  There will be a new clubs letter out today to be returned by Tuesday 25 April (the first day back after Easter).

Woodwind lessons with Mr Allen – Tuesday 4th April instead of Thursday 6th April.

Flower Arranging Classes at HN School: 6 classes, starting Monday 24 April 7-9pm in the Study Centre.  Cost £50. Classes will include demonstrations and practical hands on sessions.  If you are interested in attending please contact Jane Orchard 01608 737634

Holiday dates for 2017/18:

AUTUMN TERM 2017

Wednesday 6 September (Friday 8 September for Foundation Stage) – Friday 20 October

October Half Term : Monday 23 October – Friday 27 October inclusive

Monday 30 October – Tuesday 19 December

Christmas Holiday : Wednesday 20 December – Wednesday 3 January 2018 inclusive

SPRING TERM 2018

Thursday 4 January 2018 (Monday 8 January for Nursery) – Friday 9 February

February Half Term : Monday 12 February – Friday 16 February

Monday 19 February – Thursday 29 March

April Holiday – Friday 30 March – Friday 13 April inclusive

SUMMER TERM 2018

Monday 16 April (Wednesday 18 April for Nursery) – Friday 25 May

May Day Holiday – School Closed : Monday 7 May

May Half Term : Monday 28 May – Friday 1 June inclusive

Monday 4 June – Friday 20 July

School Meals: The cost of a school meal will increase in the Summer term to £2.20, therefore we need all outstanding balances (we are owed £246.20!) and payments for the last week of term to be paid by Monday 3 April before the price increase.

 FOHNS Auction of Promises:  A huge thank you to everyone who has placed bids online and in writing or generously donated one of the wonderful range of lots. As at today, we have raised £3164.03 through the auction (over our original target of £3,000) and we still have the live event to go – we look forward to seeing you on Saturday night from 7:30pm.

Kevin Hope’s Quiz raised £240 which has kindly been donated to the school.

WELL DONE!  This week we have said well done to:- All Y1, Reef Jurgens, Evie Molmans, the Y6 children who went to Sweden, Cole Davies, the Y6 children who went to Kidzania, Will Cooper, Ellie Newby, Edie Cooper, Charlie Shorten, Emily Cutter, Scarlett Marshall.

Activities/Visits : Y6 returned from Sweden having had a fantastic time, including a visit to an inspiring Science museum and skyping with their classmates back home.

Out of School Achievements : Well done to Darcy Lambourne Player of the Match HN Football Club, Toby Luxton, Lani and Cavan Tanner Red Belt Karate, Swimming: Daisy Petre Bronze Award, Rosie Petre 1 mile, Ewen Rutherford 50 m, David Kirk Distinction Grade 2 Ukulele, Emily Carroll-Mayes Blue Peter Badge, Imogen Hutchinson and Scarlett Marshall Grade 1 Classical Ballet.

Thank you from the Foundation Stage to Dan White of Whites Woodwork for our fantastic planters which we are looking forward to filling with sunflowers and vegetables very soon.

 

Owl Value of the month: Diversity
Yours sincerely

 

Stella Belgrove

Head teacher

Top