Menu

Hook Norton C of E

Primary School

Live Love Care Think Learn Dare

Newsletter 5 June 2015

Dear Parents

Young at Heart Family Concert at 3pm Saturday 20th June at St Peter’s Church, Hook Norton

An hour’s fun concert for children and adults given by the internationally acclaimed award-winning 40 piece “Birmingham Symphonic Winds” and their musical director and conductor, Keith Allen – with guest appearances from Hook Norton Primary School Choir and Wind band!

Rehearsals are in full swing during lunchtimes at school and I know that the children would love your support on the day. Tickets will be on sale at school from 3 pm on Tuesday 9th, Wednesday 10th and Friday 19th June (look out for Jane Orchard!). Tickets are priced at £5 per person and children under 5 are free.

Members of the Choir and Wind band will need to be available from 2 p.m. on Saturday 20th June for a joint rehearsal with “Birmingham Symphonic Winds”. (Further details will follow shortly for those children who are performing). I’ve heard on the grapevine that quite a few younger children have been lured in from the field at playtimes to watch rehearsals in Mrs Robertson’s classroom and have thoroughly enjoyed the performances that they have seen so far! Put the date in your calendar and come and enjoy the music for yourselves. Head lice: Head lice have been spotted in Year 1; please check your child’s hair thoroughly this weekend.

School Expansion:  the plans are now on the Cherwell website.  Work is now scheduled to begin in August.

Y3 swimming – can swimmers please bring pyjamas next week – 2-piece, long-legged, long-sleeved and light weight clothing. NO onesies.

Class photographs – proofs have been displayed in cloakrooms – orders to be returned by Friday 12 June please (NB the morning part-timer’s photograph will be adjusted to include the members of staff!)

Term & Holiday dates for 2015/16

AUTUMN 2015 TERM 1

Wednesday 2 September/Friday 4 September for Foundation Stage (due to staff home visiting new children) – Friday 23 October

October Holiday : Monday 26 October –Friday 30 October inclusive

TERM 2

Monday 2 November – Friday 18 December

Christmas Holiday : Monday 21 December – Friday 1 January 2016 inclusive

SPRING 2016

TERM 3

Monday 4 January 2016/Wednesday 6 January for FS part-timers (staff home visiting) – Friday 12 February

February Holiday : Monday 15 February – Friday 19 February

TERM 4

Monday 22 February– Thursday 24 March

April Holiday – Friday 25 March – Monday 11 April inclusive

SUMMER 2016

TERM 5

Tuesday 12 April/Thurs 14 April for FS part-timers (staff home visiting) – Friday 27 May

May Day Holiday – School Closed : Monday 2 May

Late Spring Holiday : Monday 30 May – Friday 3 June

TERM 6

Monday 6 June – Friday 15 July

 

WELL DONES: This week we have said ‘Well Done’ to All Year 1, Rosie Petre, Orla McArdle, Ella White, Carys Lehmann, Lottie Denne, William Hutchinson, Isabel Mair, Oscar Simmonds, Oliver Winhammar, Taryn Wyatt, Imogen Nicholls, Abi Nunneley.

Pen Licence: Well Done to Fin Cornelius-Hicks for qualifying for his pen licence.

Mrs Belgrove’s Stars of the Week: Alfie Newman for his big smile and enthusiasm.

ACTIVITIES/VISITS: Y2 had a day beside the seaside in Weston-Super-Mare today. Y6 attended the IMPS programme at the Horton Hospital (injury minimisation). Y5 have been taking their cycling proficiency this week. Matt Woods joins Y3 as a student teacher for 5 weeks. Y2 had a plant sale of their vegetable plants grown from seed. The Finance Governors met to monitor the school budget, which is on track.

OUT OF SCHOOL ACHIEVEMENTS: Well done to: Amelie Tarbit 5th in the Regal Equestrian Show.

Christian Value of the month: Justice

Yours sincerely

 

Mrs S Belgrove

Head Teacher

Top