≡ Menu

Newsletter 21 July 2017

Dear Parents At Prize Giving yesterday we celebrated a number of achievements, including the awarding of the cups below.  These included: Attendance, Music, Cooking, Sports, Maths, Eco, Reading, School Council, More Able and Computing as well as congratulating all the children on their successes over the year.  Every child has made a contribution to the rich and varied life of the school which has been celebrated in our weekly ‘Well Done’ assemblies. Harry Bartlett Cups At yesterday’s prize-giving assembly, Georgia Sealey and Charlie Sampson were presented with the Harry Bartlett Cups for their outstanding contribution to school life, well done! Mr Newman Cups The Newman cups for sporting excellence were awarded to Abigail Nunneley and Lukas Wahlen – congratulations! House Point Trophy:  The winner this term is the Blue Team with 1180 house points -well done! Leavers: Today we said goodbye to our Year 6’s in a celebratory service. We wish our Y6 children all the very best of luck and look forward to hearing about their future successes and achievements. Staffing: Best wishes to Mrs Gill Joyner who is relinquishing her TA role to work with Banbury Young Homeless.  I am delighted that she is, however, retaining her role as Pastoral Support Assistant. In September we will welcome Mrs Sarah Stephens as a new TA in KS1. Packed Lunches Reminders: Please do not include any nuts in your child’s packed lunch; this includes peanut butter, chocolate spread (most chocolate spreads contain nuts), packets of fruit and nut, nut yoghurts, cereal bars that contain nuts. Please do not include fizzy drinks, sweets or chocolate bars in your child’s packed lunch. Please include cutlery if needed in your child’s packed lunch. Please include a drink in your child’s packed lunch. (The milk is available for children who have paid for school meals.) Please include salad if your child enjoys it as we have had children helping themselves to the salad bar, which is for children having school meals! Parent/Class Information Meetings: 2017-18 Once again we will be holding group Class Meetings for parents/carers (children are welcome to attend) in September, where the class teachers will give an overview of the work children will be covering over the next academic year, as well as giving out other relevant school information, diary dates, etc.  These meetings will take place in the classroom on the dates outlined below (there will be individual parent/teacher consultations later in the term to report on progress):- Year 6 – Mrs Peters – Tuesday 12 September, 3.15pm Year 5 – Mrs Crouch – Monday 11 September, 3.15pm Year 4 – Mrs Walker – Monday 18 September, 3.15pm Year 3 – Miss Crooker – Friday 15 September, 3.15pm Year 2 – Mrs Voce, Mrs Vint, Miss Quartermain – Wednesday 13 September, 3.15pm Year 1 – Mrs Voce, Mrs Vint, Miss Quartermain – Thursday 14 September 3.15pm Swimming : Year 5 will start on Tuesday 12 September – look out for the Parentmail message! Musical Instrument Tuition : Mr Allen will be running  a ‘hands-on’ session for any potential Key Stage 2 woodwind pupils and their parents straight after school on Thursday 14th September. He will give children the opportunity to try out the instruments and find out more about lessons. Clubs:  Details came out last week - deadline for signing up is Friday 8 September.  Clubs start week commencing 18 September. FOHNS : Huge thanks to all the Committee for all the great activities provided and to everyone who supported their fund-raising efforts!  Many thanks to Laura Wyatt, the Chair for leading a record breaking year, raising over £14,000 last year! Attendance: Almost Full Attendance 10-14 July Y2 and Y5. Out of School Achievements : Well done to Cole Davies for his gold medals in Karate.   Enjoy your summer holidays. We will see you back on Wednesday 6th September, Years 1 – 6, with Nursery and Reception Friday 8th September because of home visiting parents and children.   Yours sincerely   Mrs S Belgrove Head Teacher   Holiday dates for 2017/18: AUTUMN TERM 2017 Wednesday 6 September (Friday 8 September for Foundation Stage) – Friday 20 October October Half Term : Monday 23 October – Friday 27 October inclusive Monday 30 October – Tuesday 19 December, 1.30pm finish Christmas Holiday : Wednesday 20 December – Wednesday 3 January 2018 inclusive SPRING TERM 2018 Thursday 4 January 2018 (Monday 8 January for Nursery) – Friday 9 February February Half Term : Monday 12 February – Friday 16 February Monday 19 February – Thursday 29 March, 1.30pm finish April Holiday – Friday 30 March – Friday 13 April inclusive SUMMER TERM 2018 Monday 16 April (Wednesday 18 April for Nursery) – Friday 25 May May Day Holiday – School Closed : Monday 7 May May Half Term : Monday 28 May – Friday 1 June inclusive Monday 4 June – Friday 20 July, 1.30pm finish  

Comments on this entry are closed.